life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans…

Sweet Tapdancing Christ, what a difference a week and a half makes.

Here’s a recap of the last 8 days:

  • Found out an old friend has cancer of the kidneys – supposedly stage IV. Waiting to speak to his wife to confirm, and find out what I can do to be helpful. I’m very upset about this. I’ve known he and his family for probably 24 or 25 years.
  • Trying to book our Walt Disney World trip in March – who would have thought that the largest resort on property would be damn near booked up? We have a solution, but holy cow! I know, #firstworldproblems.
  • I still work with idiots. They just get worse. There are times that I actually feel like I need to take a shower and wash the stupid off of me when I get home.
  • The wife had a minor fender-bender today. Hit a patch of ice, slid through a turn onto the highway ramp, up onto the curb and stopped at the phone pole. Wife and car both doing fine, thanks for asking. We’re having the car checked out tomorrow, just to be safe. Plus, we’re planning on driving it to Florida in March, so better safe than sorry.

Been feeling a little down lately. I think part of it is Seasonal Affective Disorder, and part of it is that there have been so many changes in my/our lives the last few months. And I think I know one of the things that has been bothering me. Perhaps blogging about it will help.

As I have discussed previously, I inadvertently “broke up” with a long time friend recently, but, in retrospect, it was time. I’ve known this guy since the 6th or 7th grade. I know you’re never supposed to discuss politics or religion, and politics is what did it. For a little while, I was thinking that perhaps it was just me, or that the entire situation was my fault (and if you know me, you’ll understand that just entertaining this thought is quite a breakthrough for me) but his behavior towards my wife since this occurred has been remarkably similar. So, after much discussion, we’ve both kind of come to the conclusion that he’s not quite right.

He’s had some serious medical issues to deal with, so I was willing to give him the benefit of the doubt, but the behavior he’s exhibiting lately does not seem to have anything to do with that. And when he starts in on my wife – always on her facebook page, arguing with her on items she posts – he never, ever stops, even when she asks him to. It upsets her more than she likes me to notice, because I think she’s afraid I am going to go over there and kick his ass. And what it all boils down to is politics. First he was a sore winner, and now he is a sore loser. And, like I told him, he has now convinced me that he loves his guns more than he loves his children. I did not come to this conclusion easily, or without a lot of thought, and when I told him, it was also a decision that I did not take lightly. Of course, he’s also pissed off because I pointed out – in public – that his opinion on gun rights is no longer valid, due to his getting drunk and pointing a weapon at a mutual friend’s head and asking him if he now believed in god. You don’t get to have an opinion on responsible gun ownership after having done that.

And you know what? He can be as pissed off as he wants to be. He bitched to my wife that I embarrassed him by posting that info publicly. Well, too fucking bad. Actually, he bitched to her about a lot of things, which she called me on, and it turned out that he misrepresented ALL of them to her. So, it is what it is. I’ve not really lost any sleep over it, other than the fact that it’s had my wife a little upset. But she’s gotten over it.

It’s just been odd, because we used to spend a lot of time with their family, and now he  invites my wife over, and specifically tells her I am not welcome.  I could give a shit, but it upsets her. As I have told people in the past, when you upset my wife, you upset me.  And when you upset me, I will make it my fucking job to make you absolutely goddamn miserable. And I am remarkably good at my job.

I’ve also been feeling nostalgic lately. It’s been 26 years since I finished high school. I work there now, and not only are most of the teachers I had retired, or retiring soon – and some of them have died – but there are 2 or 3 people who I went to school with who are now teaching there. It makes me feel old. I’m 44 this year. When I was 17 or 18, I could not have even imagined being 44. It’s weird. I’ll probably address that in more detail soon.

In the meantime, let me leave you with a quote I read today which fits in nicely with that last paragraph:

The trouble is, you think you have time.

Leave a Reply

