you’re really messing with my zen thing, man…

Day in and day out, I work with some of the dumbest, most incompetent people I have ever encountered in my life. I almost lost my cool with someone a few days ago. They’ve got a superiority complex, which is really entertaining when one learns just how incredibly stupid and bad at doing whatever in the hell it is they do there. I try to not let it bother me, but that one day last week, and today both really tried my patience.

I keep looking for a new gig, but there’s not much out there. I applied for something a week and a half ago, but since it was for something I’ve never done before, I wasn’t even able to get an interview. But I’ll keep trying. You gotta keep trying.

I was disappointed a week or so ago, because I had been really hopeful that I was going to play drums for a local production of Little Shop of Horrors. I love the show, I’ve played it 4 or 5 times, and it’s a lot of fun. Plus, I like the musical director, he’s great to work with. Well, I have a conflict the 2nd weekend of the run, so I asked if they could get a sub for me that weekend. This is not usually a problem, as I have been called in to sub there several times – all for the same guy, actually. Well, the musical director doesn’t want to train someone new for just one weekend. I disagree with him, but it’s not my show, so I’m out. And I was kind of pissed off about it, especially because the guy they’re going to use is the same fucking guy they keep calling me to sub for. But then they cast the show, and man, I am feeling TONS better about not playing it. The guy they cast as Seymour (look it up if you don’t know the show) is possibly the 2nd worst actor I have ever seen or had the misfortune to work with. The worst being, of course, the Evil and Insipid Jack L. Herman.

For more information about the Evil and Insipid Jack L. Herman, see the following links:

http://www.canada.com/edmontonjournal/news/story.html?id=ec2d5cc2-5798-47f2-933f-bc5cc6ea95b4

http://www.canada.com/edmontonjournal/news/story.html?id=790ac967-cdca-48f4-ae28-d3deb3b90434

http://www.recordpub.com/news%20local/2007/05/11/sheriff-s-detective-put-on-paid-leave-jack-herman-out-of-work-during-investigation-into-charges-he-plagiarized-play

Those links don’t have a whole lot to do with the rest of this entry, but I enjoy making sure they continue receive attention on the internet because Jack is one of the worst d-bags who ever lived.

Anyway, this other guy SUCKS. So I feel a bit better, because I was going to have to quit, rather than play for another show that this guy is in. Seriously, I would not have been able to do it. The last time I played a show this guy was in, we had to dumb down the drum break in one of the songs, because he was unable to sing, dance and count at the same time. The first time I was involved in a show with him, he forgot a line to the Time Warp. THE FUCKING TIME WARP.  And it wasn’t one of the complicated lines, either. He’s awful. So now I feel better, because I don’t have to sit through his horrific acting or singing every night. I can enjoy my weekends in late April – early May. I have one friend in the cast who I am sorry I will not get to see, but that’s it.

We’re at 31 days until Walt Disney World!

Leave a Reply

